Burt Road's Hall of Fame Page

Burt Road
BD M 10/22/2000 Oswald Cobblepot - Waterford
Ran for the Melvin Langford Kennel
Owned by Melvin Langford
Trained by Terry Dial
JGR Starts: 118/76-16-9-9
Stakes Starts: 22/9-5-4-0
Accomplishments: 86 Career Wins – 76 on JRC
2003 Flashy Sir Award Winner
2003 All-American
2003 National Win Leader (56)
Winner Night of Stars XII
3rd 2004 Orange Park Derby
3rd 2003 Clay County Classic
3rd 2003 Orange Park Derby
Finalist 2003 Mayor’s Cup
Finalist Night of Stars XI
Burt Road was the best 660 yard, 3/8ths of a mile, greyhound to every race on the Jacksonville Racing Circuit. With his superior break and blazing early speed it is no wonder that he won 76 races on the Jacksonville Racing Circuit and 86 races in his career. Burt is tied for the all-time mark of 14 wins in a row and ended his prolific career with victories in 17 of 18 starts. Burt was the 2003 National win leader with 56 wins, voted to the 2003 All-American team and won the Flash Sir award in 2003 for the best distance greyhound in the country. Although he could win from any post, Burt loved the outside part of the racetrack. He never missed the money from the 7 or 8 boxes in all of his races, over both distances, on the Jacksonville Racing Circuit. Burt won the NOS XII race and finished third in the Orange Park Derby in two straight years. Burt could also run 550 yards as he made the finals of the 2003 Clay County Classic, where he finished 3rd, and the 2003 Mayor’s Cup. Burt will be remember most for his 660 yards races where he would hit the lid in each and every start and run off on the lead for big wins. The best there ever was, Burt Road.
The most consistent breaking of my time. Truly amazing on the lead.
Won 86 Races in carrer, Tied for most wins every in a row on the circuit with 14.
Burt Road
2010 - Eds Budby
2009 - Penny Candy
2008 - Kiowa Wish Frank
2008 - Penny Candy
2007 - Afleet Alex
2006 - Kay V Tatoo Tony
2004 - Dustin The Way
2003 - Burt Road
1994 - ML Top Royalty
1993 - Mega Morris
1993 - Ml Top Royalty
1993 - Rv Snowlady
1992 - Wiretex
1990 - Hello Higsbee
1984 - Blue Twinkle
1983 - My Problem
1983 - BJ's Justin
1974 - Sand Cut
Rural Rube Award
1984 - Classical Act
Flashy Sir Award
2003 - Burt Road
1993 - Rv Snowlady
1974 - Sand Cut